New CD release: “Poststop”

This CD is the result of a two-day workshop and subsequent concert held in October 2010 in Porto, Portugal, as part of the futureplaces digital media festival. The workshop had the imprint of MediaLab Prado’s “Neighborhood Science” network, and was held at C.C.Stop, a bankrupt shopping mall turned music community”

During this period, field recordists taped seamstresses, video artists interviewed security guards, impromptu ensembles wove a multitude of musical languages. All questioned, shared, performed, discussed and discovered, under the motto of random operations, proposed by the musical director Blaine L. Reininger

The resulting concert was the closing event of the 2010 edition of the future places festival, exploring the idea that new media becomes even more relevant when fueled by contextual creativity, aesthetic convergence, and an openness to chance and change.

This CD collects a series of variations of the original audio material, reconstructed by workshop participants and invited guests. A series of audio footnotes, including the closing concert in its entirety, will be available through


  1. autodigest: Hard Rock Café
  2. Blaine L. Reininger: Tintro
  3. The Post-Apocalyptic Shopping Mall
  4. Marc Behrens: Neighbour GS
  5. Anselmo Canha: The Nature of Exchange
  6. @c: Noventa [para Heitor]
  7. Marc Behrens: Neighbour 3F
  8. Heitor Alvelos: An Underdog Burns
  9. Filipe Silva: Mind At Large [Day One]
  10. Untitled [trad.]
  11. João Martins: One OverTwo
  12. Heitor Alvelos: The Post-Apocalyptic Shopping Mall [Slight Return]
  13. Anselmo Canha: Gondomar, Ermesinde, Valongo, Rio Tinto
  14. Marc Behrens: Neighbour J*J*J

This CD is published under the imprint of the futureplaces festival, a project of the UT Austin-Portugal program in digital media, and is not for sale. Crónica has a few copies to offer to all purchases from our website, please check how to get one here.

The presentation of this release, at 22h tonight in Maus Hábitos, Porto, will feature a performance with Henrique Fernandes, João Martins, Miguel Carvalhais, Anselmo Canha , Filipe Silva and André Coelho.